Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Battle Tanks Standalone Game
Hi there,

As I've been enjoying btanks for the past 4 years and still like many parts of it, I've decided trying to build a standalone Battle Tanks game (coded in plain C using an object oriented approach, for those who are technically interested). Except for the network code I've done everything else several times already (working as the CTO for a mid sized business right now), and I'm sure I can get that done as well.

Now, for why I'm posting this: Does anyone of you know about license and law stuff regarding btanks as a map? Building a standalone game from a wc3 map doesn't seem to be a problem, as there is league of legends already, but I've not been able to find any stuff about intelectual property and things like that regarding the battle tanks map.

So, if anyone is able to point me to relevant information, I would be grateful.

Also, I'll be doing this for fun, so I will ignore anyone posting stuff like "can you finish this in the next month?" etc.Wink

Thanks,

Best Regards
Getting used to the Sand everywhere. At least it brings us map updates.
Wow, this sounds like an ambitious project ;) In case you reach a point, where you need data straight from the map, I'd also be happy to help you.

As for the legal stuff: as long as you don't use any assets from Blizzard or create some that look like the ones from Blizzard, you should be fine. I certainly don't hold any copyright to the map and I guess even Blizzard cannot claim the game mechanics as their own. It is stated, that Blizzard owns anything you create with the World Editor, but I'd be suprised if this includes something like a "patent" or an idea for a game.