Posts: 802
Threads: 41
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation:
0
There is a multi kill bug that i first time encountered in ver. 8.27 and then 8.28.
Some enemy has killed someone and he made a triple kill instantly.
Saw same in 8.28 as double kill with only one kill.
Check it please...
Trolololo
Posts: 802
Threads: 41
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation:
0
Strange thing is that i played this map over several thousand times and encountered this bug in 2 maps afterwards for the first time (and second time).
Lets check conditions, this trigger works like this i think: when a player kills someone then a multikill variable gets +1 and starts a one shot timer aprxm. with 4 seconds limit. And if guy kills another enemy within timer, then multikill variable gets +1 and timer restarts and guy get extra bounty etc. if timer ends then variable reseted to 0.
There is nothing about a player related thing that a "player-leave" can cause.
I dont think a player leave event can cause some other guys timer to pause.
Trolololo
Posts: 2,503
Threads: 205
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation:
17
Thats true, I've experienced this bug without leavers, too. The problem is, that this bug appeared in a version where we didn't change anything on the trigger where the multikills are implemented. So this is rather difficult, additionally to the fact that this only happens sometimes, there have to be some special circumstances which we have to find out to fix this bug.
This post has been brought to you by Sand - it's everywhere, get used to it.
Posts: 2,292
Threads: 181
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation:
2
A global integer variable that gets 1, when it's supposed to be 0? Is the same integer variable used in 2 different spots, or does this multikill feature purely use local variable, which in any case should not cause this bug.
Posts: 802
Threads: 41
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation:
0
Logically it mustn't be global variable.
To find the bug you should check spelling in that trigger. There are always some missing things from our eyes.
Which version was it imported in?
Trolololo
Posts: 754
Threads: 31
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation:
1
its scripted the way that everytime the value increases by one it checks after 5 seconds if its still the same value, and if it is, then resets it to 0... otherwise the next will do it, because you wont be changing the value all the time...
and i dont know where the bug is either...
perhaps the orders of resetting the value arent correct, because PolledWait() isnt accurate... or any other unit dies and fires the trigger, but crashes after the value is increased...
if the variable is used somewhere else can be checked if you just remove the variable, delete the death trigger and let the game save with another name, it will give an error if its used somewhere else...