Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 4 Average
Getting Kills
I'm not very good, so I tend to be more cautious than the average player. By the end of the game, I usually have fewer deaths than average, but I'm not very good at getting kills. I tend to get more kills when I have long range weapons. Does anyone have any advice about tactics that help you get more kills? Maybe some advice about weapons and items toward that end too. Thank you.
you could take a look at the koth replays
in pubs you usually take 1-2 weapons and go straight for a bigger tank or get a hull first - depends on the enemy :]
With the latest version it's more important that someone dies by teamplaying than one player getting imba strong. I don't know what you already know and what not, so here a re some random tips.
- always use hotkeys [QWERT for spells, numpad for inventory items (there are tools to replace the numpad keys so you don't need to move your hand and save time, but i don't use them anymore)]
- take a random tank (hotkey: R) at start, you will get a bonus of 5% start gold, which is 150 gold for the most games [you can use it for a fast control point teleport or wait for about 30 seconds and buy a stronger weapon (like scout + electro cannon, heli + fireball for example)]; you should practice all 6 possible random tanks, if you can handle all you should try alternative builds to (i like to buy a tech-mech right at start, but start with a weaker weapon: heli + startshooter if i play against ground tanks, for example)
- enable to see life bars permantly, it's a bit hard to get used at it but very useful to estimate your chances [(attached a screenshot how to do it in my version (which is Deutsch)],
- the teleporter is a useful item, use it to make kills, save you from dieing or, which is better in my opinion, to capture control points or to start raid attacks on the enemy base,
- save spells for killing, useing them for creeping is mostly waste (especially for stuns and ultis),