Posts: 16
Threads: 5
Joined: May 2010
Reputation:
0
OK this is my other burning question about btanks and I swear after this I'm done for now
Mid to late game a lot of items become clickable and can be triggered by num pad keys. but I always lay my fingers on my left hand over qwerty to trigger abilities. When you have to trigger an item, do you:
1. Reach over and press the corresponding numpad key with your hand?
2. Click on it to activate with mouse?
3. Other (I can only imagine some sort of custom config... please if possible tell me how!)
I am trying this teleport thing with the net but I can't get my clicks out fast enough...
thanks
j
Posts: 1,010
Threads: 46
Joined: Dec 2007
Reputation:
8
I use touchpad.
I am so good that I don't even need to type -rc because I never die !
Posts: 1,494
Threads: 32
Joined: Sep 2007
Reputation:
5
I use the numpad. It gets easier if you become more experienced and can predict most actions from your opponents, so your hand can allready be where it needs to be next.
I know a couple of other players using hotkey tools, which binds the numpad keys to other keys.
Posts: 605
Threads: 8
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation:
1
Posts: 593
Threads: 110
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation:
13
I used to have a usb-num pad with my laptop, which i place on left hand side when playing war3. That gives quick access to launch items.
But now I don't have it anymore, so I turn to use hotkey tool, called warkey. Actually I only change the tp to key "F". But it always gives trouble when i want to quickly write something to the team.
Posts: 9
Threads: 3
Joined: May 2010
Reputation:
0
I was just (frustrated) clicking, but then I realized my G15 keyboard has macro keys next to the left side.
Duhhhhhhh. Now I have a button next to shift for NumPad1 and right above that for NumPad2.
Posts: 120
Threads: 4
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation:
0
I use WarKey instead to map everything. Only problem with it is trying to fit in Attack and Stop aswell while keeping good hotkeys for all the inventory slots. Gets a bit messy but its well worth it for the quick teleports/item uses.
It does however stop working at times which can be might frustrating.
"I was clicking D like mad but my script didn't work" - Is something you dont want to say too often :roll:
SC2: Equiem (Charcode 990), whisper me if you wish to practise some 1vs1 or grab some achievements
Repeat while playing: "There is no such thing as luck in Btanks" - Now watch yourself improve tenfold
Posts: 35
Threads: 5
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation:
0
Posts: 8
Threads: 2
Joined: May 2010
Reputation:
0
I use autohotkey ( http://www.autohotkey.com/download/) to change the hotkeys for the items to d, f and a. Auto Hotkey sends the corresponding Num-Key-Event without the original key when triggered. This influences the chatting a little bit, since some letters will be replaced by numbers which might be confusing. But the additional speed in triggering the items is worth this chatting problem.
Here is my script I use:
regread, war, HKEY_CURRENT_USER, Software\Blizzard Entertainment\Warcraft III, ProgramX
menu, tray, icon, %war%, 1, 1
;; Inventory
#ifWinActive ahk_class Warcraft III
d::send, {Numpad7}
f::send, {Numpad8}
a::send, {Numpad4}
return
have fun, haz0r =)
"That's the way it is with any powerful tool: There's always more to learn, and there are always better ways to do what you've done before." D. E. Knuth
Posts: 120
Threads: 4
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation:
0
By request from 3imi, this is the script I use. Quite sure you dont need the full text but here it is:
Code: #SingleInstance force ;force a single instance
#HotkeyInterval 0 ;disable the warning dialog if a key is held down
#InstallKeybdHook ;Forces the unconditional installation of the keyboard hook
#UseHook On ;might increase responsiveness of hotkeys
#MaxThreads 20 ;use 20 (the max) instead of 10 threads
SetBatchLines, -1 ;makes the script run at max speed
SetKeyDelay , -1, -1 ;faster response (might be better with -1, 0)
;Thread, Interrupt , -1, -1 ;not sure what this does, could be bad for timers
SetTitleMatchMode, 3 ;title Warcraft III must match exactly
SetDefaultMouseSpeed, 0 ;Move the mouse faster for mouse moving commands
IfExist, Warcraft III.ico
menu, tray, Icon, Warcraft III.ico, 1, 1
;;;;; Variables ;;;;;
bInChatRoom := False
bHealthBarOn := False
Return ; End Auto-Execute Section
; AutoCast Function
AutoCast(iSpellQWERHotkey)
{
MouseGetPos, iMousePosX, IMousePosY
if (iSpellQWERHotkey == 1)
{
iMouseGotoX := A_ScreenWidth*4//5
iMouseGotoY := A_ScreenHeight*4//5
}
else if (iSpellQWERHotkey == 2)
{
iMouseGotoX := A_ScreenWidth*4//5
iMouseGotoY := A_ScreenHeight*22//25
}
else if (iSpellQWERHotkey == 3)
{ iMouseGotoX := A_ScreenWidth*4//5
iMouseGotoY := A_ScreenHeight*19//20
}
else if (iSpellQWERHotkey == 4)
{
iMouseGotoX := A_ScreenWidth*17//20
iMouseGotoY := A_ScreenHeight*4//5
}
else if (iSpellQWERHotkey == 5)
{
iMouseGotoX := A_ScreenWidth*17//20
iMouseGotoY := A_ScreenHeight*22//25
}
else if (iSpellQWERHotkey == 6)
{
iMouseGotoX := A_ScreenWidth*17//20
iMouseGotoY := A_ScreenHeight*19//20
}
else if (iSpellQWERHotkey == 7)
{
iMouseGotoX := A_ScreenWidth*9//10
iMouseGotoY := A_ScreenHeight*4//5
}
else if (iSpellQWERHotkey == 8)
{
iMouseGotoX := A_ScreenWidth*9//10
iMouseGotoY := A_ScreenHeight*22//25
}
else if (iSpellQWERHotkey == 9)
{
iMouseGotoX := A_ScreenWidth*9//10
iMouseGotoY := A_ScreenHeight*19//20
}
else if (iSpellQWERHotkey == 10)
{
iMouseGotoX := A_ScreenWidth*19//20
iMouseGotoY := A_ScreenHeight*4//5
}
else if (iSpellQWERHotkey == 11)
{
iMouseGotoX := A_ScreenWidth*19//20
iMouseGotoY := A_ScreenHeight*22//25
}
else if (iSpellQWERHotkey == 12)
{
iMouseGotoX := A_ScreenWidth*19//20
iMouseGotoY := A_ScreenHeight*19//20
}
Click, Right, %iMouseGotoX%, %iMouseGotoY%
MouseMove, %iMousePosX%, %iMousePosY%
}
#ifWinActive, Warcraft III ahk_class Warcraft III
;;;;; Enable/disable all hotkeys ;;;;;
~*Enter::
~*NumpadEnter::
Suspend, Permit
if (bInChatRoom == True)
return
Suspend
if (A_IsSuspended == true)
SetScrollLockState, Off
else
SetScrollLockState, On
return
;; Escape will cancel chatting, so turn the hotkeys back on
~*Esc::
Suspend, Permit
if (bInChatRoom == True)
return
Suspend, Off
SetScrollLockState, On
return
*ScrollLock::
Suspend, Permit
bInChatRoom := not bInChatRoom
if (bInChatRoom == True)
{
Suspend, On
SetScrollLockState, Off
}
else
{
Suspend, Off
SetScrollLockState, On
}
return
; Disable Left Alt-Q GG
<!q::return
; Inventory Keys:
f::Numpad4
g::Numpad5
s::Numpad1
d::Numpad2
; Hotkeys Remapper:
k::SendPlay, {Enter}-rc{Enter}{Enter}-anglez 65{Enter}{Enter}-zoom 5000{Enter}
l::SendPlay, +{Enter}-team No Skill, Just Luck{Enter}
Last 9 lines are the ones you should look at, the other things should be auto-generated by WarKey.
SC2: Equiem (Charcode 990), whisper me if you wish to practise some 1vs1 or grab some achievements
Repeat while playing: "There is no such thing as luck in Btanks" - Now watch yourself improve tenfold
Posts: 6
Threads: 2
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation:
0
I do a mixture of both: I map my primary item inventory key(which has the item with an active-ability that I will use) to the 'Z' key, but also sometimes just reach over to press the numpad key just because I'm used to doing so. But using the re-mapped keys is much more useful in clutch situations.
I guess I should have voted 'Other" instead of the "reach over to press the hokey" selection. Whoops
|